How to introduce Vintage elements to modern dressmaking patterns

1930's style

I posted this dress previously it is one of my favourites however many of the original patterns are long gone, and while pattern companies do sell ‘vintage’ patterns I have struggled to find patterns that incorporate elements that for me lift a garment out of the ordinary and into the fabulous.



Butterick B6168 Front Illustration

I saw this pattern on the Butterick website and thought it would make a great starting point to pay homage to the Vintage Dress.

Pattern adaptation Vintage Style

I think we appear to have lost our skills on how to enhance a figure, if you notice the gathering under the midriff section it is really adding bulk even if you have a flat tummy all that fabric would bulge out and is not flattering.  Scroll back up to the original dress and the use of pleats has added interest without bulking up at the front, a perfect hideaway for a little rounded tummy.

Butterick B6168 Technical drawing 1

I am big busted so I shall have to have excess fabric  in the bodice – I like the idea of the gathered smocking just above the midriff. If I choose to do this it might be easy simply to adapt the fabric allowance for pleats here and change it to a gathered section however, I am not sure how it would work with the cross over. Only time and my Toile will tell.

The final element I will change is the cap sleeve – I would like a full sleeve that finishes just above the elbow. Sleeve variations were around in the 1930s but I know that the full sleeve is a signature detail of Vintage style, so I want to incorporate it into my dress.

Proposed changes

I am not going to replicate the smocking on the upper bodice and sleeves or the yoke details of the vintage dress because I am busty and it would make the bodice rather fussy. I will see if I want to add the round embellishments when I have made the dress.

back soon …

3 thoughts on “How to introduce Vintage elements to modern dressmaking patterns

Leave a Reply

