A round peg in a world of square holes – learning to love my curves

e0220cf92b3bf56583a5e839e183e71e

It is thanks to my lovely pen pal (the old fashioned letter writing sort!) that I feel I have had a bit of an epiphany recently. She was new to sewing, her letter was so full of the delights of dressmaking, I wanted to pick up my abandoned pencil skirt five minutes after receiving her letter. The epiphany began with the question why I had stopped doing something I really enjoy, in the first place?- I have put on weight and I simply could not bear to look at myself in the mirror.

Size is a personal thing, to some my dress size would be their ideal, but I don’t like what I see – but why? I am a healthy woman, with curves with a little bit of a tummy if I am honest – where did this self loathing come from?

I am an hourglass figure – big busted, big hipped, clothing just doesn’t fit and when I look at all the pattern illustrations what I get looks completely different. For years I have felt a round peg trying to fit into a square hole!

When do you see women with hips and boobs in films or the media? Yet a with a few clicks I was thrilled to discover there are many beautiful women out there.

e5f3733f48c5ae390b4200ebee8d7018

 

When I see these images, I feel better because they reflect my body shape and exude style and beauty. I hope that it isn’t long before we can see curvy women take roles in movies and advertising, the Fashion industry still has a long way to go.

One of the great things about sewing, is that you have the power at your fingertips to create outfits that fit and flatter your shape, whatever it is.

We don’t have to wait for the fashion industry to change, we can make up our own minds about what is good for us, there are some great blogs out there who are doing just that! Big women who challenge the trend – who are beginning to change fashion. They are creating their own fashion lines, writing their own magazines – clothing manufacturers are listening!

1430933843-christinamendezresized

Christina Mendez

But in the meantime, there are things I can do!

So here are my eight tips I intend to follow to help me learn to love and accept myself:

1 – Embrace who you are, measure yourself accurately, don’t suck your tummy in or judge the numbers, just accept them.

2 – Know your body shape and work with it, for example I know that anything without a defined waist will make me look enormous, so I choose patterns that have princess seams, or empire waistlines. If you aren’t sure of  what suits try on lots of different clothing styles until you get an idea of what you like.

1430932917-10991377-945726605437962-6161716330893531397-n

 

3 – Wear the right underwear: I make french knickers because they go round the waist there is no such thing as a muffin top! A well fitting bra not only  supports the bust, but takes care of your back as well.

4 -Don’t hide your curves, while fashion mags might be full of size zero models a survey of men revealed that size 14/16 was the ideal body shape in mens eyes. Women’s bodies are supposed to be different, so intend to learn to love my soft body, be voluptuous.

abf5337144408b38734b7f3d4209e7d1

5 -Wear clothes that makes me feel good! Soft velvet, floaty chiffon or cotton jersey. When you make clothes, you can use comfortable seam finishes that don’t chafe the skin. You can add a small section of elastic into a waistband to snuggle the after lunch tummy bloat.

b4da885674ff2774840228195f1bb202

6- Take care of yourself – eat well and move a little! I work with 90 year olds, not one of them has ever set foot inside a gym, but they take a regular walk every day, which is why they can still do it! Find something that you love and do it every day, even if it is playing a few tunes and dancing round the room! (I love dancing round the room!)

7-Take control, advertising might bombard me from every street, but today I discovered body positive images to counteract this – I am reading articles and fashion advice from those who make me feel good!

8- Spend time on my appearance every day – I have been putting my hair in a ponytail, not putting on any make-up or lipstick – and the beautiful scent bottles are gathering dust. Today I sat back and brushed my hair, put on  make up and also discovered I can still wear earrings after nearly a year without them! Needless to say I feel so much better already.

 

me

So that was me yesterday in the garden with the dog – no make-up, hair up hiding in mostly black.

Look out world – here I come!

Here are some blogs and websites  that may interest you:

Secret Plus Size Goddess – this lady is awesome!

Fashion and styling 

UK fashion blogger:  the arched eyebrow has an urban style

Curvy and Chic

http://www.garnerstyle.com

MAGAZINES

http://dailyvenusdiva.com/2016/01/29/hot-lingerie-trends-to-try-this-valentines-day/

http://slinkmagazine.com/2016/02/river-island-first-peak-at-plus-size/

 

Note; I have provided links where I can for the pictures when available, unfortunately some of the Pinterest links are dead. If you can help me give the right credit please let me know.

X

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “A round peg in a world of square holes – learning to love my curves

  1. Hopefully I can post this this time.
    Go you there is lots about making your own clothing that can help you to love your body, once you have learned to fit for it.
    The curvy sewing collective is a good place to go for body positive messages, curvy clothing and seeing the same patterns made up on many different body shapes.

    I totally agree on the ‘making yourself up’ I have been in a bit of a slump but having to go out for a “conference” for work the other day forced me to dress up and I have been doing it a bit since then and it has made me feel a bit better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Pippa thanks for your lovely comment -I will check out the curvy sewing collective, that sounds such a great place for inspiration thank you for sharing it with me.

      I work alone – in my home so I let things slip a lot! I found putting on make up and nice clothes has made me feel a whole lot better recently and I am hoping to keep it up! It is kind of you to let me know that I am not the only one and I am finding I am feeling much more positive.

      Like

  2. This is a brave post, there are many of us curvy gals (or sausage bodies, in my case) who’ve been hiding. But no more, I’m going to do my face today, too! Good luck with your eight wonderful tips, and thank you for the encouraging words.

    Like

    • Hi Jen,
      Thank you for your post, it was a bit of bravery on my part, there is so much pressure to write posts about a perfect life, but mine is far from that. I wrote from the heart and so delighted to read that it resonated with you – thank you for your comment, it is so good to know I am not alone! Glad to see you are getting out the lippy! lots of love X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

