Autumn Sewing – Kate jersey dress version 4

11-img_3187

It has been a phenomenal summer hasn’t it? Gloriously warm lazy days filled with lovely beach walks with the dog, alfresco dining and wearing anything other than cotton or chiffon feels just too hot! However, the nights are drawing in, September is the beginning of Autumn and the heat won’t last forever!

I headed to the nearby Fabricland in Portsmouth last Sunday – if I am honest, Fabricland is a bit hit and miss, sometimes brimming with lovely fabrics other times I leave without seeing anything inspiring! Thankfully this visit was one of the inspiring ones! I was looking for knits – warmer dresses to see me though the Autumn and into winter.

08-img_3183

I could not resist this beautiful floral print, so reminiscent of summer but in a cosy jersey that was so soft to the touch it would be a delight to wear. It has a lovely weight that hangs nicely.

09-img_3184

I love the butterflies through out the pattern – there was no definable direction to the print, although I detected a slight diagonal. The flowers were not so big that it made pattern cutting difficult. I bought 3m at £4.99 pm which is a bargain!

I decided to use the Kate Jersey Dress pattern again – to be honest with you I have lost my sewing mojo a little lately and I just wanted to get the dress done rather than having to faff around with pattern adaptation. It really peeves me that I have to always do the Full Bust adjustment, so I decided to use the pattern already drafted. Not only that the style really flatters my shape and I feel relatively happy with the finished dress. (Even though I am not really that happy with my weight at the moment!)

10-img_3186

However, the pattern is tricky considering it is for knits. The central panel finishes at a sharp peak, the bodice is also sharply curved… needless to say stretch fabrics and points are not easy to achieve. I think the first time I did this dress I used some contrast fleece fabric that gave it some stability. However I wanted to make this complete in one fabric so had no option. I think the next one I make I will add a fleece backing, the knit is too soft to really define the lovely point – which is a key detail on this pattern.

So I am all ready for Autumn … let’s hope we have an indian summer!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Autumn Sewing – Kate jersey dress version 4

  1. I can see why you snapped up 3m of it at that price – such a pretty print. What with it being jersey and a busy print, you should feel happy wearing it even if you’re not comfortable with yourself at the moment:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

